Shopping Cart

Grigoryan Brothers

This is Us: A Musical Reflection of Australia (CD)

A musical exploration of Australia’s history and heritage.
Inspired by iconic objects from the National Museum of Australia, guitar superstars, the Grigoryan Brothers, have created an expansive, yet intimate, musical vision of what it means to be Australian.
Commissioned by the Museum, Slava and Leonard Grigoryan selected 18 evocative objects: ‘We chose artefacts that try to represent some of our First Nations’ history as well as colonisation, migration, innovation and stories of love and loss. We were deeply moved by all of them.’
Celebrating the 20th anniversary of the National Museum, This Is Us marks the first time the Grigoryan Brothers have released an album that consists entirely of their original compositions. The creative process was challenged by COVID-19 lockdowns and border closures, with Slava in Adelaide and Leonard in Sydney: ‘This was the first time we had collaborated compositionally as a duo, and being cut off from each other, we had to create a new approach. After splitting up the list between us, we individually developed a concept for each piece and then shared our ideas remotely, going back and forth until the pieces took shape.’
From ancient Arnhem Land ochre to a 1946 hand-made prototype Holden sedan; from a whole, preserved thylacine (Tasmanian tiger) to Don Bradman’s first cricket bat and Fred Hollows’ lens case; from a convict love token to a lifebuoy from the Tampa, This Is Us takes us an evocative and unforgettable musical journey through Australia’s history and heritage.


  1. Love Token
  2. Deep Time
  3. Southern Sky
  4. Journey Women
  5. Love and Forgiveness
  6. Song for the Road
  7. Fred’s Vision
  8. Stolen
  9. Don’s Bat
  10. Thylacine
  11. Hunter’s Edge
  12. Đàn Tre
  13. Desperation
  14. Mourning Dress
  15. A Fortunate Wind
  16. Two Homes, One Heart
  17. Our Land
  18. Hidden Past