Shopping Cart

Various Artists

Whole Notes (2CD)

How can we pause long enough to repair ourselves? How can we make space and time in our lives to become whole? Ed Ayres, the beloved presented of Weekend Breakfast on ABC Classic, explores these questions in his new book, Whole Notes: Life Lessons through Music.

Through music – learning music, listening to music, being open to music – we know ourselves more intimately, more honestly, and more clearly. With every note, music offers us a hand to the beyond. This album is a musical companion to Whole Notes: a 2CD collection of musical treasures explored by Ed in his book.


1. Sicilienne
2. Nocturne in E-flat major, Op. 9 No. 2
3. Ring of Fire
4. Spiegel im Spiegel
5. Concierto de Aranjuez: I. Allegro con spirito
6. Götterdämmerung: Siegfried’s Funeral March
7. The Lamb
8. Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16: 2. Adagio
9. Viola Concerto: 2. Allegro
10. Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star
11. Little Passacaglia
12. String Quartet No. 3, Op. 67 "Songs Are Sung": 5. Largo tranquillo
13. Viola da Gamba Sonata No. 1 in G major, BWV1027: 4. Allegro moderato
14. The Stars Above Us All
15. Mercy

1. In Paradisum
2. Dido and Aeneas: Thy hand, Belinda…When I am laid in earth
3. String Quartet No. 2: 1. Allegro grazioso
4. Orfeo ed Euridice: "Che faró senza Euridice"
5. Adagio for viola and piano
6. Cello Suite No. 2 in D minor, BWV1008: 1. Prelude
7. Viola da Gamba Sonata No. 3 in G minor, BWV1029: 2. Adagio
8. Romance in F major, Op. 36
9. Chanson triste, Op. 40 No. 12
10. Grey Funnel Line
11. O magnum mysterium
12. Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 19: 3. Andante
13. Quartet for the End of Time: 5. Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus
14. Ashokan Farewell