Shopping Cart

Staatskapelle Berlin

450 Jahre Staatskapelle Berlin (15CD)

As the Staatskapelle Berlin celebrates its 450th anniversary, Deutsche Grammophon presents 15 discs of sound recordings of outstanding artistic merit from the venerable, world-class orchestra under its great conductors.

Included on disc for the first time are broadcast recordings and rare treasures from the shellac era.

Presenting an abundance of new, state-of-the-art remasterings (apart from discs 13 & 14) reflecting the orchestra’s Viennese Classical repertory, the symphonies of high and late Romanticism from Schubert to Brahms, Bruckner and Mahler, with the dawn of modernism represented by works by Richard Strauss, Reger and Schoenberg as well as by Paul Dessau, while the Staatskapelle’s operatic repertoire is represented largely by Wagner

Each CD is devoted to a single conductor who has left their mark on the Staatskapelle’s playing. A ‘bonus’ disc documents some of the distinguished resident and guest conductors from the shellac era.

The accompanying booklet includes a Foreword by Daniel Barenboim, Staatskapelle’s general music director; an essay examining the century of recordings represented in this set and a comprehensive timeline chronicling the orchestra’s 450-year history, by Detlef Giese, principal dramaturge at the State Opera Unter den Linden.


CD 1
Richard Strauss

  1. MOZART: Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K 550
  2. R. STRAUSS: Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche op. 28
  3. Don Quixote op. 35

CD 2
Leo Blech

  1. MOZART: Overtures: Le nozze di Figaro; Don Giovanni;
  2. Idomeneo: Ballet Music: Chaconne; Gavotte;
  3. Maurerische Trauermusik, K 477 (479a) ;
  4. Symphony No. 34 in C major K 338
  5. BIZET: Carmen: Prelude & Entr’actes
  6. BIZET: L’Arlésienne Suite No. 2: Farandole
  7. WAGNER: Das Rheingold: Einzug der Götter in Walhall
  8. Siegfried: Waldweben
  9. Die Walküre: Wotans Abschied und Feuerzauber

CD 3
Otto Klemperer

  1. BEETHOVEN: Overture “Coriolan” op. 62
  2. MENDELSSOHN: Overture “Ein Sommernachtstraum” op. 21
  3. BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1 in C minor op. 68
  4. R. STRAUSS: Salome op. 54: Tanz der sieben Schleier
  5. KURT WEILL: Kleine Dreigroschenmusik (excerpts)

CD 4
Erich Kleiber

  1. SMETANA: The Moldau (Vltava)
  2. DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9 in E minor “From the New World” op. 95
  3. BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 5 in C minor op. 67

CD 5
Herbert von Karajan

  1. MOZART: Die Zauberflöte: Overture
  2. VERDI. La forza del destino: Overture (Sinfonia)
  3. BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 7 in A major op. 92
  4. BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 8 in C minor: 4. Finale. Feierlich, nicht schnell

CD 6
Wilhelm Furtwängler

  1. WAGNER: Tristan und Isolde: Act II

CD 7
Joseph Keilberth

  1. VERDI: Macbeth: Acts I & II

CD 8
Franz Konwitschny

  1. WAGNER: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg: Act I

CD 9
Sergiu Celibidache

  1. DVOŘÁK. Slavonic Dance No. 8 in G minor op. 46/8
  2. HINDEMITH: Symphonic Metamorphosis of Themes by Carl Maria von Weber
  3. BRAHMS: Symphony No. 4 in E minor op. 98

CD 10
Otmar Suitner

  1. DESSAU: Symphonic Adaptation after the Quintet inE flat major K 614 by W. A. Mozart
  2. REGER: Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Mozart op. 132
  3. SCHUBERT: Rosamunde, Fürstin von Zypern D 797 (excerpts)

CD 11
Pierre Boulez

  1. MAHLER: Symphony No. 6 “Tragic”

CD 12
Michael Gielen

  1. SCHUBERT: Symphony No. 8 in B minor “Unfinished” D 759
  2. SCHOENBERG: Pelleas und Melisande op. 5

Daniel Barenboim

  1. BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 5 in B flat major

CD 14
Zubin Mehta

  1. BEETHOVEN: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in C minor op. 37
  2. TCHAIKOVSKY: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 in B flat minor op. 23

CD 15
Recordings from the shellac era

  1. WAGNER: Der fliegende Holländer: Overture ∙ Parsifal: Final Scene (Act III)
    Conductor: Max von Schillings
  2. MASCAGNI Le maschere: Sinfonia
    Conductor: Pietro Mascagni
  3. PFITZNER: Palestrina: Prelude (Act I)
    Conductor: Hans Pfitzner