Shopping Cart

Andrew Blanch / Ariel Nurha

Alchemy (CD)

Andrew Blanch and Ariel Nurhadi are "two stunning young guitarists" ( Sydney Arts Guide) who have been performing together since 2014, touring as a duo.

Alchemy, their debut recording, takes us on a journey through history and around the world, through beloved works by Debussy, Rameau, Piazzolla, Albeniz, Falla, and Granados. The album also features the acclaimed Three Duets by the late Australian guitarist and composer Phillip Houghton - including Alchemy, the first piece that Andrew and Ariel performed as a duo, and the piece after which this album is named.

This is a gorgeous album, full of classic pieces beautifully performed, and announces major new stars in the already-glittering galaxy of Australia's classical guitar community.



Jean-Philippe Rameau: Pieeces de Clavecin (1724) (arr. Sergio and Eduardo Abreu)
1. Le Rappel des Oiseaux
2. Musette en Rondeau
3. Rigaudons 1 and 2
4. Allemande
5. Les Cyclopes
Claude Debussy
6. Clair de Lune from Suite Bergamasque (arr. Ariel Nurhadi and Andrew Blanch)
7. Cakewalk from Children's Corner (arr. Julian Bream and John Williams)
8. Peter Madlem Monte Carlo
9. Isaac Albeniz (arr. Miguel Llobet) Evocacion from Iberia
10. Manuel de Falla (arr. Emilio Pujol) Danza from La Vida Breve
11. Enrique Granados (arr. Emilio Pujol) Intermezzo from Goyescas
12. Radames Gnattali: Suite Retratos
13. iii. Anacleto de Medeiros (Schottisch)
14. iv. Chiquinha Gonzaga (Corta Jaca)

Phillip Houghton: Three Duets
15. The Mantis and the Moon
16. Lament
17. Alchemy

Astor Piazzolla: Tango Suite
18. i. Deciso
19. ii. Andante
20. iii. Allegro
Andrew Blanch and Ariel Nurhadi guitar