Shopping Cart

Anouar Brahem

Le Pas Du Chat Noir (CD)

Hypnotic, magnetic new album by Anouar Brahem which adds a new dimension to our knowledge of this exceptional Tunisian musician. 'Le pas du chat noir' gives the clearest indication yet of the work of Brahem as composer and features a spacious 'chamber music' that resonates with the freshness of improvisation. 

    The instrumentation is unique: oud, piano, accordion. Brahem's writing for this combination is highly evocative, meticulously controlled and sparse. Half of the magic, as he notes, resides in the not-played, in the marvellous mingling of overtones, sounds that rise from the piano to blend with the warm tones of the oud and the breath of the accordion's bellows.

    1. Le Pas du Chat Noir
    2. De Tout Ton Cœur
    3. Leila au Pays du Carrousel
    4. Pique-nique à Nagpur
    5. C'est Ailleurs
    6. Toi qui Sait
    7. L'arbre qui Voit
    8. Un Point Bleu
    9. Les Ailes du Bourak
    10. Rue du Départ
    11. Leila au Pays du Carrousel (Variation)
    12. Déjà la Nuit