Shopping Cart

Arooj Aftab, Vijay Iyer, Shahzad Ismaily

Love In Exile (CD)

Love in Exile is a new collaborative album by Grammy®️ Winner Arooj Aftab (vocals), influential composer & pianist Vijay Iyer (piano, synthesizers) and renowned multi-instrumentalist Shahzad Ismaily (bass, MOOG synth).

Love in Exile was recorded live over one day with minimal editing; each listen reveals new aspects of this soundworld.

Lyrics in Urdu.

The three world class musicians met in their adopted hometown of New York City and forged a singular voice, stemming from a time Vijay suggested that he and Arooj, who were on the same bill at a show years ago, improvise together as one act - repeating this again in 2018, adding Shahzad to round out the trio that has existed since.

1. To Remain/To Return 2. Haseen Thi 3. Shadow Forces 4. Sajni 5. Eyes of the Endless 6. Sharabi