Shopping Cart

Daniel Barenboim

Schumann: The Symphonies (2CD+BLURAY)

Historically, Robert Schumann was one of the most important composers of the 19th century,” explains Daniel Barenboim in an interview about his new recording of the composer's complete symphonies. For this reason, a few years after the very successful cycle of the Brahms symphonies, Schumann's works were also recorded at concerts in the Berlin State Opera and the Berlin Philharmonic with the Berlin Staatskapelle.

The four Schumann Symphonies recorded live in concerts in Berlin’s world-famous Philharmonie and in the Staatsoper.

As an addition the 2 CD Set has a Blu-ray Audio version with a Dolby Atmos Mix, Stereo and Surround Mix.


CD 1

Symphony No. 1 in B flat major “Spring” op. 38

1. Andante un poco maestoso – Allegro molto vivace
2. Larghetto
3. Scherzo. Molto vivace
4. Allegro animato e grazioso

Symphony No. 2 in C major op. 61

1. Sostenuto assai – Allegro ma non troppo
2. Scherzo. Allegro vivace
3. Adagio espressivo
4. Allegro molto vivace

CD 2

Symphony No. 3 in E flat major “Rhenish” op. 97

1. Lebhaft
2. Scherzo. Sehr mäßig
3. Nicht schnell
4. Feierlich
5. Lebhaft

Symphony No. 4 in D minor op. 120

1. Ziemlich langsam – Lebhaft
2. Romanze. Ziemlich langsam
3. Scherzo
4. Langsam – Lebhaft – Presto