Shopping Cart

Evergreen Ensemble

Curious Caledonians (CD)

Curious Caledonians offers a rare insight into domestic and public music-making in Australia since 1788, honouring the extraordinary contributions of Scottish culture to Australian society. Part classical, part folk, part Scottish, part Australian, this album captures the musical – and emotional – landscape of the early Australian settlement.


1. Miss Susanna Baird’s Reel / Miss Johnston’s Reel
2. Black Mary
3. The Emigrant Highlander’s Wife
4. The Blue Bell of Scotland
5. Morag
6. Laddie Oh Leave Me
7. Hit Her on the Bum
8. The Favorite Scotch Rondo
9. The Hen’s March / Sir George Murray’s Favorite / The Duke of Wellington
10. The Marquis of Huntly’s Welcome Home / [No] 6 Dance
11. Ye Banks and Braes
12. Jenny Dang the Weaver
13. The Banks of Clyde
14. Lord Moira’s Welcome / Miss Jeann Stewart of Bohally’s Reel
15. The Horse-man’s Port
16. Queen of France’s Lamentation
17. Blackbird Waltz
18. La Fenella 19.Don Alphonso

Evergreen Ensemble: Shane Lestideau violin Ben Dollman violin & viola Allegra Giagu mezzo-soprano Claire Patti soprano & Celtic harp Guest Artists Aaron McGregor violin Daniel Yeadon cello Neal Peres Da Costa 19th-century square piano David McGuinness 19th-century square piano & harpsichord.