Shopping Cart

Gordon Fergus-Thompson

Debussy: Solo Piano Music (4CD)

For Claude Debussy, the imaginative life was real life. A musical pantheist and revolutionary, he sensed the very heart of the centre of natural phenomena, their 'inscape' or essence; and seeking, as he put it, to 'express the inexpressible', he longed to liberate music 'from the barren traditions that stifle it'. Such fantasy and freedom combine with a no less marked love of precision and finesse to give Debussy's music an inimitable calibre and stature.

Few overviews of Debussy's piano music have been as consistently satisfying as Gordon Fergus-Thompson's. Sensitively recorded, it is full of half-lights, colour and vibrancy. It won the MRA `Best Instrumental Recording of the Year` and a Penguin Guide `rosette` and has received rave reviews in the international press.


CD 1

  1. Rêverie
  2. Suite bergamasque
  3. Images oubliées
  4. Pour le piano – Suite
  5. Images – Set I
  6. Images – Set II

CD 2

  1. Deux Arabesques
  2. Danse bohémienne
  3. Ballade slave (1890)
  4. Danse (Tarantelle styrienne)
  5. Valse romantique
  6. Mazurka
  7. Nocturne
  8. Préludes – Book I

CD 3

  1. L’isle joyeuse
  2. Estampes
  3. D’un cahier d’esquisses
  4. Morceau de concours
  5. Masques
  6. Préludes – Book II

CD 4

  1. Children’s Corner
  2. Hommage à Joseph Haydn
  3. Le petit Nègre
  4. La plus que lente
  5. Berceuse héroïque
  6. Elégie
  7. Page d’album (Pièce pour le vêtement du blesse) (1915)

Gordon Fergus-Thompson, piano