Shopping Cart

Julia Hülsmann Quartet

The Next Door (CD)

On The Next Door Julia Hülsmann returns with the quartet from 2019's Not Far From Here, and presents her unique pianistic voice in a varied programme of almost exclusively original music, composed by herself and her colleagues - tenor saxophonist Uli Kempendorff, Marc Muellbauer on double bass and drummer Heinrich Kbberling.

A deep respect for the jazz tradition, as cultivated in the post-bop and modal jazz of the 60s, permeates this session and, with the quartet's modern twist, sets the stage for highly expressive soloing and profound interplay.

1. Empty Hands
2. Made Of Wood
3. Polychrome
4. Wasp At The Window
5. Jetzt Noch Nicht
6. Lightcap
7. Sometimes It Snows In April
8. Open Up
9. Jetzt Noch Nicht
10. Post Post Post
11. Fluid
12. Valdemossa

Julia Hulsmann: piano

Uli Kempendorff: tenor saxophone

Marc Muellbauer: double bass

Heinrich Kbberling: drums