Shopping Cart

Ludovico Einaudi

Underwater (Digisleeve CD)

Ludovico has been wanting to write a solo piano album for several years but needed the right environment to fully commit to it.
His schedule is so full of tours, soundtracks and everything else he works on that it’s not been possible to have the right environment to be able to write the album he wanted to.


Lockdown gave him this opportunity. He embraced the isolation from his normal busy and complex schedule to find a place of simplicity. So this is a positive take on lockdown and isolation; using this rare opportunity to allow the simple beauty of song writing in its purest form. No technology, no external interference, just Ludovico and his piano.

As a result, the theme around the album is that of freedom from the typical boundaries of our everyday life. This is expressed in the metaphor of Underwater. A free and open space where you can move and explore, float, pause, move in 3 dimensions etc. Personally, I think a bird flying the sky also works as a metaphor for that feeling of freedom.


1. Luminous
2. Rolling Like A Ball
3. Indian Yellow
4. Flora
5. Natural Light
6. Almost June
7. Swordfish
8. Wind Song
9. Atoms
10. Temple White
11. Nobody Knows
12. Underwater