Shopping Cart

Neville Marriner

Folk Songs (2CD)

Sir Neville Marriner and his Academy made some of the most priceless recordings of Vaughan Williams for Decca and Philips, and this collection restores to circulation his Philips traversal of music by this composer, with the addition of five pieces made for Decca - the Romance for harmonica (with Tommy Reilly), possibly the best version of The Lark Ascending ever recorded (with the late Iona Brown), his second recording of Fantasia on Greensleeves, the Concerto Grosso and the English Folk Song Suite. The collection is filled out with the nine perky folk song arrangements he recorded, receiving their first international release on CD.

CD 1


  1. The Wasps: Overture
  2. Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis
  3. In the Fen Country – Symphonic Impression
  4. Variations for Orchestra
  5. Norfolk Rhapsody No. 1 in E minor
  6. Five Variants of ‘Dives and Lazarus’
  7. Romance for strings, piano and harmonica*

CD 2

  1. The Lark Ascending**
  2. Fantasia on Greensleeves
  3. Concerto Grosso
  4. English Folk Song Suite
  5. British Folk Song Arrangements arr. Leslie Pearson, Chris Hazell

Tommy Reilly, harmonica*
Iona Brown, violin**
Academy of St. Martin in the Fields
Neville Marriner