Shopping Cart

Nils Økland, Sigbjørn Apeland

Glimmer (CD)

Violinist Nils Økland and keyboardist Sigbjørn Apeland, musical partners for thirty years, have long explored the interface of Norwegian traditional music and improvisation. Glimmer, an exceptionally beautiful and touching album, takes as its starting point folk music from the Haugalandet region of Western Norway. Apeland’s collection of pieces from local singers who have helped to keep the traditions alive forms the basis of the repertoire here, along with original compositions. The latter range from pieces written for a film about Lars Hertevig, the great Norwegian landscape painter of the 19th century, to music inspired by modernist composer Fartein Valen. Throughout, the combination of Økland’s Hardanger fiddle and Apeland’s harmonium is marvellously evocative.

1. Skynd deg, skynd deg
2. Gråt ikke søte pike
3. Valevåg (Sigbjørn Apeland)
4. O du min Immanuel (Traditional)
5. Glimmer (Nils Økland)
6. Hvor er det godt å lande (Traditional)
7. O, venner (Traditional)
8. Se solens skjønne lys og prakt (Traditional)
9. Reven sete på setet (Traditional)
10. Myr (Sigbjørn Apeland)
11. Malurt (Nils Økland)
12. Dempar (Nils Økland)
13. Rullestadjuvet (Nils Økland, Sigbjørn Apeland)
14. O du min Immanuel (Traditional)
15. Nu solen går ned (Traditional)

Nils Økland, violin
Sigbjørn Apeland, keyboard