Shopping Cart

Paul Kelly / James Ledger

Thirteen Ways To Look At Birds (CD)

Thirteen Ways to Look at Birds brings six musicians from broad-ranging backgrounds together to interpret bird inspired poems, written by John Keats, Thomas Hardy, Emily Dickinson, Judith Wright, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Gwen Harwood, A D Hope and others.

It features the Seraphim Trio with Anna Goldsworthy on piano, Helen Ayres on violin and Tim Nankervis on cello, along with composer James Ledger and singer-songwriters Paul Kelly and Alice Keath. The latter sings harmony and background vocals on The Darkling Thrush, Leda and the Swan, A Barred Owl, Ode to a Nightingale, Thornbills, The Windhover and The Magpies and the lead vocal on Proud Songsters.

1. Black Cockatoos (Judith Wright)
2. The Darkling Thrush (Thomas Hardy)
3. Leda and the Swan (WB Yeats)
4. Barn Owl (Gwen Harwood)
5. Mudlarking
6. A Barred Owl (Richard Wilbur)
7. "Hope" is the thing with feathers (Emily Dickinson)
8. Ode to a Nightingale (John Keats)
9. Proud Songsters (Thomas Hardy)
10. Murmuration
11. Thornbills (Judith Wright)
12.The fly (Miroslav Holub)
13. Black Swan
14. The Death of the Bird (AD Hope)
15. The Windhover (Gerard Manley Hopkins)
16. The Magpies (Denis Glover)