Shopping Cart

Andris Nelsons / Boston Symphony Orchestra

Shostakovich Symphonies 1, 4 & 15 and Chamber Symphony in C Minor (2CD)

In this latest instalment in “an ongoing Shostakovich survey that has rightly won him three Grammy Awards” (New York Times), Andris Nelsons and the Boston Symphony Orchestra bookend the composer’s brilliant, often turbulent symphonic career.
Nearly half a century lies between Shostakovich’s triumphant debut with the First, premiered before his 20th birthday, and the Fifteenth, an inventory of influences written under the shadow of his own mortality. Penned just two years earlier, the Fourteenth is a symphonic song cycle, and the Chamber Symphony is a skilful adaptation of that tragic masterpiece, the Eighth String Quartet.

CD 1
Symphony No. 1 in F minor op. 10 f-moll
1. Allegretto – Allegro non troppo
2. Allegro
3. Lento
4. Lento – Allegro molto

Symphony No. 15 in A major op. 141 A-dur
1. Allegretto
2. Adagio – Largo – Adagio – Largo
3. Allegretto
4. Adagio – Allegretto – Adagio – Allegretto

CD 2
Symphony No. 14 in G minor op. 135 g-moll
1. Adagio: De profundis (Federico García Lorca) AT
2. Allegretto: Malagen’ya (Malagueña: Federico García Lorca) KO
3. Allegro molto: Loreleya (Loreley: Guillaume Apollinaire) KO & AT
4. Adagio: Samoubiyca (Le Suicidé: Guillaume Apollinaire) KO
5. Allegretto: Načeku (Les Attentives I: Guillaume Apollinaire) KO
6. Adagio: Madam, posmotrite! (Les Attentives II: Guillaume Apollinaire) KO & AT
7. Adagio: V Tyur’me Santė (À la Santé: Guillaume Apollinaire) AT
8. Allegro: Otvet zaporožskikh kazakov konstantinopol’skomu sultanu
(Réponse des Cosaques Zaporogues au Sultan de Constantinople: Guillaume Apollinaire) AT
9. Andante: O, Del’vig, Del’vig! (O Delwig, Delwig: Wilhelm Küchelbecker) AT
10. Largo: Smert’ poėta (Der Tod des Dichters: Rainer Maria Rilke) KO
11. Moderato: Zaklyučeniye (Schlussstück: Rainer Maria Rilke) KO & AT

Kristine Opolais soprano (KO) · Alexander Tsymbalyuk bass (AT)

Chamber Symphony in C minor op. 110a arr. Rudolf Barshai
from String Quartet No. 8 in C minor op. 110 A-dur
12 1. Largo
13 2. Allegro molto
14 3. Allegretto
15 4. Largo
16 5. Largo