Shopping Cart

Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra

Frederick Septimus Kelly - Orchestral Works (2CD)

Frederick Septimus Kelly was one of the great cultural losses of World War One.

This album brings to life his rich catalogue of beautiful orchestral works.

CD 1

1. Elegy in memoriam Rupert Brooke
German Symphony*
2. I. Allegro con brio
3. II. Waltz
4. III. Intermezzo
5. IV. Introduction and Fugue
6. Scherzo*
7. The Somme Lament arr. Christopher Latham*

CD 2

1. A Coin for the Ferryman* arr. Latham Two Organ Preludes arr. Latham
2. Prelude No. 1 on ‘Good King Wenceslas’ (Christmas Prelude)*
3. Prelude No. 2*Serenade for flute, harp, horn and strings
4. I. Prelude
5. II. Idyl
6. III. Minuet
7. IV. Air and Variations
8. V. Jig Songs of Love and Loss arr. Latham & Kelly*
9. It Is Not Dawn Till You Awake
10. Shall I Compare Thee to a Summer’s Day
11. Music, When Soft Voices Die
12. Aghadoe
13. Crossing the Bar

Andrew Goodwin tenor, Christina Wilson mezzo-soprano
Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra
Benjamin Northey, Johannes Fritzsch (CD1 tk 1) conductors

* World premiere recordings